Whatcom County Fire District #1 is governed by 3 elected Commissioners who serve a 6 year term. Currently our three commissioners are Gary Almy, Tim Wells and Randy VanderHeiden. The Commissioners meet regularly on the second Thursday of every month at 9:00am. The operations of the District are overseen by Chief Mel Blankers. The financial information is handled by Administrative Assistant Jodi DeBeeld.